Why choose organic

As of May 2012, our three-star hotel is the first organic hotel in Kassel. We are a member of the Biohotels e.V, the European Association of ecologically – sustainably operating hotels.

Certification

As guests of our Biohotel Wilhelmshöher Tor, you can be assured that the products we serve at our breakfast buffet are of best organic quality. Aside of the organic standards we follow for our foods and beverages, the detergents used at the Wilhelmshöher Tor are exclusively from certified manufacturers. This also applies for the selection of natural cosmetics we offer you, as our guests, during your stay. We also apply 100% natural electricity.

All foods we offer are certified according to “Article 29, paragraph 1 of the Regulation (EC) no. 834/2007”. The European Community Regulation defines how agricultural and food products that are labeled as organic, must be produced and manufactured. Additionally, we strictly follow the Bioland guidelines for many of the foods processed ourselves: economies in circulation, cultivate soil fertility, raise animals humanely, produce best quality food, promote biodiversity, conserve natural livelihoods and secure mankind a future worth living in. From recycled toilet paper to the printed matter and the office paper, we use only brands that meet certified organic standards. Therefore our BioHotel is labeled with the award “Recommended by Bioland”.

The organic certification of our Biohotel Wilhelmshöher Tor is reviewed annually.


Clearly organic

Breakfast – sweet or hearty

Naturkost Elkershausen, our wholesaler, belongs to the pioneers and creative minds of the organic movement in food trade. His guideline for healthy and enjoyable foods is a special regional range of products and fair trade relations. Please let us know if you need to avoid certain ingredients or products./p>

Those who prefer to start off with a sweet breakfast may enjoy our genuine jams. For those who prefer a hearty start for the day, may choose our “Ahle Wurst” or the tasty, Kassels’ regional Eschenhof cheese. Certainly we also offer fresh fruits combined with a variety of cereals and dairy products.

The family Eisenach from Guntershausen (Baunatal), provides us with the delicious eggs. They have specialized in the humane and natural chicken farming – with one hundred per cent GM-free organic feeding.

Our variety of breads and rolls are from the bakery “Brotgarten” (bread garden). They rely entirely on products from organically grown raw materials. They were voted, by the magazine “Der Feinschmecker”, among the 600 best bakeries in Germany.

Coffee specialties – in addition to our traditional, organic, filter coffee, we also offer cappuccino, café crème, espresso and café au lait in organic quality. The coffee is fairly traded, organically grown and roasted with great artisan care by the Röstrausch roastery in Gudensberg, southwest of Kassel.

Minibar

The minibar, across from the reception of the Biohotel Wilhelmshöher Tor, offers refreshing soft drinks and beers from the “Neumarkter Lammsbräu”, sparkling wine and red and white wine from the demeter-winery in Zwölberich and sweet and hearty snacks from “Landgarten”. For our chocolate-lovers, we offer an assortment from Vivani, one of the best brands for organic chocolate. Vivani obtains most of its resources from certified organic agriculture by small farmers’ cooperations in Central and South America.

Cosmetics

The Biohotel Wilhelmshöher Tor offers “Floraluxe” the certified natural cosmetic line from ADA, 98% of the ingredients of Floraluxe are of natural origin and active ingredients from organic cultivation, ADA is committed to the sustainable use of environmental resources and strives to produce environmentally friendly as well as economical products. ADA rejects animal experiments in cosmetics.

Cleaning supplies

The detergents used in Biohotel Wilhelmshöher Tor are products of Ecover. The Belgian company produced the first ecological, phosphate-free detergent in 1980 and was therefore a pioneer in the production of ecological detergents and cleaners. Ecover has also built its production facilities in Belgium and France strictly according to ecological criteria. “Sustainability” is the guiding principle behind the company: “From raw material production, through production and packaging to transport … Ecover makes no compromises when it comes to sustainability.” In addition to the European eco-label, Ecover also applies its own and more stringent certification model. Our Kruppert laundry, which provides clean towels, tablecloths and workwear, also uses certified, environmentally-friendly detergents. They contain as little pollutants as possible, are readily biodegradable and are obtained without phosphate and silicate. The medium-sized company in Hünfeld-Michelsrombach (between Kassel and Fulda) completely optimized its laundry technology in 2011 in terms of energy efficiency, resource conservation and productivity.

Energy

Biohotel Wilhelmshöher Tor receives electricity, which comes from 100% organic sources. The supplier is the Hamburg company LichtBlick. It is one of the largest energy suppliers in Germany, independent of the established energy groups. LichtBlick gains its electricity from water, biomass and other renewable energy sources such as wind and sun. This is certified by the Öko-Strom quality seal “OK Power” and the TÜV Nord.

Warum Bio

Seit Mai 2012 ist das Drei-Sterne-Haus Wilhelmshöher Tor das erste Bio-Hotel in Kassel.
Wir sind Mitglied im Biohotels e.V.,der europäischen Vereinigung ökologisch-nachhaltig wirtschaftender Hotelbetriebe.

 

Zertifizierung

Unsere Gäste können sicher sein, dass nur beste Qualität auf den Frühstückstisch des Biohotels Wilhelmshöher Tor kommt. Neben den Bio-Standards für Lebensmittel werden auch die im Wilhelmshöher Tor verwendeten Reinigungsmittel ausschließlich von zertifizierten Herstellern geliefert. Das gilt ebenso für die Auswahl der Naturkosmetika, die für die Gäste bereitliegen. Das Biohotel bezieht 100% Naturstrom.

Alle Lebensmittel, die wir anbieten, sind mindestens nach „Artikel 29 Absatz 1 der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 834/2007″ zertifiziert. Die Verordnung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft legt fest, wie landwirtschaftliche Erzeugnisse und Lebensmittel, die als Öko-Produkte gekennzeichnet sind, erzeugt und hergestellt werden müssen. Zusätzlich entsprechen viele der von uns verarbeiteten Lebensmittel den noch strengeren Richtlinien von Bioland: im Kreislauf wirtschaften, Bodenfruchtbarkeit fördern, Tiere artgerecht halten, wertvolle Lebensmittel erzeugen, biologische Vielfalt fördern, natürliche Lebensgrundlagen bewahren, Menschen eine lebenswerte Zukunft sichern. Vom Recycling-Toilettenpapier bis zu den Druckerzeugnissen und den Büro-Papiersorten verwenden wir nur Fabrikate, die zertifizierten Öko-Normen entsprechen. Deshalb führt unser BioHotel auch die Auszeichnung „Empfohlen von Bioland“.

Das Bio-Zertifikat des Biohotels Wilhelmshöher Tor wird jährlich überprüft.


Bio konkret

Frühstück – süß oder herzhaft

Unsere Großhändler gehören zu den Wegbereitern und Ideengebern der Bio-Bewegung im Lebensmittelhandel. Sie haben ein gesundes und genussvolles Naturkost-Sortiment, eine besondere regionale Produktpalette und faire Handelsbeziehungen zur Richtschnur gemacht. Bitte sprechen Sie uns an, wenn Sie bestimmte Zutaten oder Produkte meiden müssen. 

Wer lieber mit Süßem beginnt, freut sich an geschmacksechten Marmeladensorten. Wer Herzhaftes zum Start bevorzugt, wählt die regionale „Ahle Wurst“ oder den guten Käse aus dem Kasseler Umland. Wer auf Obst als Frühstückseröffnung schwört, genießt frisches Bio-Obst kombinierbar mit Müsli-Zutaten und Milchprodukten.

Der Familienbetrieb Eisenach aus Guntershausen (Baunatal), der uns die leckeren Eier liefert, hat sich auf die artgerechte und naturgemäße Haltung von Hühnern spezialisiert – mit hundertprozentig gentechnikfreier Bio-Fütterung. 

Unseren Gästen stehen verschiedene Brot- und Brötchensorten vom Bäcker „Brotgarten“ zur Auswahl. Brotgarten setzt ganz auf Backwaren aus ökologisch angebauten Rohstoffen. Von der Zeitschrift „Der Feinschmecker“ wurde der Brotgarten unter die 600 besten Bäckereien in Deutschland gewählt!

Kaffeespezialitäten – Zusätzlich zum traditionellen Filterkaffee in Bio-Qualität bieten wir Cappuccino, Café Creme, Espresso und Café au lait in Bio-Qualität an. Der Kaffee, den wir dafür verwenden, ist fair gehandelter, ökologisch angebauter und mit großer handwerklicher Sorgfalt gerösteter Spitzenkaffee.

Minibar

Die Minibar im Rezeptionsbereich des Biohotels Wilhelmshöher Tor bietet erfrischende Limonaden und Biere von der „Neumarkter Lammsbräu“, Sekt und Wein vom demeter-„Weingut im Zwölberich“, süße und herzhafte Snacks von „Landgarten“. Schokoladen-Fans finden in unserem Minibar-Angebot Schokoriegel von Vivani, einer Marke für feinste Bio-Schokoladen. Vivani bezieht den überwiegenden Anteil der Zutaten aus der kontrolliert biologischen Landwirtschaft von Kleinbauern-Kooperativen in Mittel- und Südamerika.

Kosmetika

Das Biohotel Wilhelmshöher Tor bietet mit „Floraluxe“ die zertifizierte natürliche Kosmetiklinie von ADA. 98% der Inhaltsstoffe von Floraluxe sind natürlichen Ursprungs und Wirkstoffe aus dem biologischem Anbau. ADA bekennt sich zum nachhaltigen Umgang mit Umweltressourcen und ist bestrebt, umweltfreundliche wie wirtschaftliche Produkte herzustellen. ADA lehnt Tierversuche bei Kosmetik ab.

Reinigungsmittel

Die Reinigungsmittel, die im Biohotel Wilhelmshöher Tor eingesetzt werden, sind Produkte der Firma Buzil. Auch unsere Wäscherei Wille, die für saubere Handtücher, Tischdecken und Arbeitskleidung sorgt, setzt zertifizierte umweltschonende Waschmittel ein. Sie enthalten möglichst wenig Schadstoffe, sind biologisch leicht abbaubar und kommen ohne Phosphat und Silikat aus.

Energie

Das Biohotel Wilhelmshöher Tor bezieht Strom, der zu 100% aus ökologischen Erzeugungsquellen stammt.